Skip to content

So long, Leonard!

We already knew that Leonard Cohen lived in Greece for a while - now we know exactly where. One of the most beautiful Greek islands is Hydra in the Saronic Gulf. It may be barren and not very fertile, but the inhabitants have managed to keep mass tourism away. The houses climb picturesquely up the hill from the harbour, the main town and the harbour look like a high amphitheatre.

In 1960, Leonard Cohen bought a house in Kamini, a small village next to the main town, and lived there until 1970, there he fell in love with his muse, the Norwegian Marianne. World hits like "Suzanne", "Stranger Song" and, of course, "So long, Marianne" probably originated here. His favourite pub in town was the Douskus, for whose landlord he even wrote his own song.

The island is pristine, of course there are many tourists, but there are no cars, only mules for transport - and that's how the inhabitants want it to stay. 

Coming from Porto Heli, we briefly put our bow into the small harbour of Hydra. It is supposed to be very crowded most of the time. When we arrive, there are already two rows of boats nested inside each other. Anchor salad is inevitable when we cast off. We sail one nautical mile further and anchor in the quiet bay of Mandraki. From here, the next day, we take a beautiful panoramic path to the main town and also to Leonard Cohen's favourite places.

We say "So long, Marianne!" 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Springe zum Inhalt

So long, Leonard!

Dass Leonard Cohen eine Zeitlang in Griechenland gelebt hat, wussten wir schon - jetzt wissen wir genau, wo. Eine der schönsten griechischen Inseln ist Hydra im Saronischen Golf. Zwar karg und nicht sehr fruchtbar, aber die Einwohner haben es verstanden, den Massentourismus fernzuhalten. Die Häuser klettern malerisch vom Hafen den Berg hoch, der Hauptort und der Hafen wirken wie ein hohes Amphitheater.

1960 kaufte Leonard Cohen sich ein Haus in Kamini, einem kleinen Dorf neben dem Hauptort, hier lebte er bis 1970. Hier  verliebte er sich in seine Muse, die Norwegerin Marianne. Wahrscheinlich sind hier Welthits wie „Suzanne“, „Stranger Song“ und natürlich „So long, Marianne“ entstanden. Seine Lieblingskneipe in der Stadt war das Douskus, für dessen Wirt er sogar einen eigenen Song schrieb.

Die Insel ist ursprünglich, natürlich gibt es viele Touristen, aber es gibt keine Autos, nur Maulesel zum Transport - und so soll es nach dem Willen der Bewohner auch bleiben. 

Von Porto Heli kommend stecken wir unseren Bug kurz in den kleinen Hafen von Hydra. Meistens soll er sehr voll sein. Als wir kommen, liegen schon zwei Reihen mit ineinander verschachtelten Booten. Da ist beim Ablegen Ankersalat vorprogrammiert. Wir fahren eine Seemeile weiter und ankern in der ruhigen Bucht Mandraki. Von hier aus geht‘s am nächsten Tag auf einem wunderschönen Panoramaweg zum Hauptort und auch zu Leonard Cohens Lieblingsplätzen.

Wir sagen  „So long, Marianne!“ 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.